What's On
< Back

Sunshine on Leith

  • Venue: Quarry Theatre
  • Share:

More Information on Sunshine on Leith

Returning from war overseas, servicemen Davy and Ally find their way in their hometown of Edinburgh in this funny and moving story. They embark upon intertwining journeys of life and love, set to the timeless songs of the much-loved band The Proclaimers, including I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles), Letter from America and of course the emotive Sunshine on Leith, as they question what ‘home’ really means.

Originally a stage musical before being transformed into the 2013 feature film adaptation, this feel-good, dazzling new production will leave you asking how many miles you would walk for love?

 

Cast & Credits

A West Yorkshire Playhouse production in association with Phil McIntyre Entertainments / Written by Stephen Greenhorn / Directed by James Brining / Songs by The Proclaimers /

Reviews

Book Tickets

Date/Time
 
Booking
Date
Time
Price
 
Booking
Fri 20 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Sat 21 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Mon 23 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Tue 24 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Wed 25 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Thu 26 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Signed Performance
Fri 27 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Sat 28 Apr 18
02:00 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Sat 28 Apr 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Tue 1 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Wed 2 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Thu 3 May 18
01:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Relaxed Performance
Thu 3 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Fri 4 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Sat 5 May 18
02:00 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Signed Performance
Sat 5 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Tue 8 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Wed 9 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Thu 10 May 18
01:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Thu 10 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Fri 11 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Captioned Performance
Sat 12 May 18
02:00 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Audio Description Performance
Sat 12 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Tue 15 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Wed 16 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Thu 17 May 18
01:30 PM
£13.50-£22.00*
Thu 17 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Audio Description Performance
Fri 18 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Sat 19 May 18
02:00 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Sat 19 May 18
07:30 PM
£13.50-£31.00*
Captioned Performance

Open captioning allows theatre goers with varying degrees of hearing to view the full text as it is spoken or sung, including sound effects and off stage noises. These appear on a scrolling screen, positioned on or at the side of the stage.

British Sign Language Interpreted

A Signed performance is the usual full production with the addition of a British Sign Language Interpreter who stands on the stage interpreting the show for Deaf attendees.

Audio Described

Audio Described performances are designed to improve the experience of visually impaired and blind attendees. As well as listening to the dialogue on stage the customer can wear a headset and listen to a live description of the action on stage.

Relaxed Performance

A relaxed performance is a specially selected show from our programme, with slight adaptations to make it suitable for an audience of young people or adults with learning disabilities. This may include extra lighting, additional wheelchair spaces and the freedom to move to alternative seating if required.

Dementia-Friendly Performance

A relaxed performance with adaptations to technical aspects of the show, flexible seating options and a relaxed attitude to audience responses and movement in the auditorium. In our front of house space we will have a quiet room, clearer visual markers and signage, and additional staff and volunteers trained to sensitively and respectfully welcome people living with dementia and their supporters to this show.

Booking Fees:

*A transaction fee of £2.50 will be applied to all phone and internet bookings.

Key:

  • Captioned - Captioned
  • Signed - Signed
  • Audio Description - Audio Description
  • Relaxed Performance - Relaxed Performance
  • Dementia Friendly Performance - Dementia Friendly Performance
< Back

Latest News

Due to popular demand, extra The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe performances added

Posted on November 10, 2017

West Yorkshire Playhouse is extending the run of festive spectacular The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe for a further week. Opening at end of November, this brand new adaptation of C.S. Lewis’ classic story will now run until Saturday 27 January. This major new production will see West Yorkshire Playhouse’s 750 seater Quarry stage […]

Read More All News