What's On
< Back

The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe

  • Venue: Quarry Theatre
  • Age: 7+
  • Other: Unlocked Event Tue 16 Jan, 10am
  • Share:

More Information on The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe

Step through the wardrobe this winter into the magical kingdom of Narnia … and the Playhouse as you’ve never seen it before.

Join Lucy, Edmund, Susan and Peter for the most mystical of adventures to a faraway land where it’s always winter, but never Christmas …

Wave goodbye to wartime Britain and say hello to a talking faun, an unforgettable Lion and the coldest, cruellest white Witch….

Following the magically inventive Peter Pan at the National Theatre and the critically acclaimed sell-out tour of Jane Eyre, Sally Cookson explores this timeless story of magic, mischief and mayhem in a spellbinding new production.

 


Please click on the settings tab to enable subtitles


Listen to our audio flyer


 

Cast & Credits

Director Sally Cookson / Designer Rae Smith / Devised by the Company / Composer and Myusic Benji Bower / Writer in the Room Adam Peck / Lighting Designer Bruno Poet / Sound Designer Ian Dickinson / Movement Director Dan Canham / Casting Director Jill Green / Rehearsal Photography Anthony Robling /

West Yorkshire Playhouse in association with Elliott & Harper Productions & Catherine Schreiber presents

  • Cast Member Image
    Gareth Aled
    as Ensemble
  • Cast Member Image
    Patricia Allison
    as Susan
  • Cast Member Image
    Peter Caulfield
    as Mr Tumnus
  • Cast Member Image
    Alan Francis
    as Mr Beaver
  • Cast Member Image
    Marie Hamilton
    as On-stage Swing
  • Cast Member Image
    Michael Jean-Marais
    as Peter
  • Cast Member Image
    Iain Johnstone
    as Aslan / Professor Quirk
  • Cast Member Image
    Cora Kirk
    as Lucy
  • Cast Member Image
    John Leader
    as Edmund
  • Cast Member Image
    Sofie Lybäck
    as Ensemble
  • Cast Member Image
    Ira Mandela Siobhan
    as Maugrim
  • Cast Member Image
    Carla Mendonça
    as White Witch / Mrs Macready
  • Cast Member Image
    Helena Parke
    as Ensemble
  • Cast Member Image
    Anwar Russell
    as On-stage Swing
  • Cast Member Image
    Lucy Tuck
    as Mrs Beaver
  • Cast Member Image
    Amalia Vitale
    as Ensemble
  • Cast Member Image
    Tom Wainwright
    as Ensemble

Reviews

Live demo session in the theatre

Join members of the creative team, cast and crew as they discuss their decisions and how the world of Narnia went from page to stage in the transformed Quarry Theatre…

Find out more and book

Book Tickets

Date/Time
 
Booking
Date
Time
Price
 
Booking
Wed 29 Nov 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 30 Nov 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 1 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Sat 2 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Mon 4 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Tue 5 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Wed 6 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Signed Performance
Thu 7 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 7 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 8 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 9 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£45.00*
Sat 9 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Mon 11 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Tue 12 Dec 17
12:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Relaxed Performance
Wed 13 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Wed 13 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 14 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 14 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 15 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 16 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Audio Description Performance
Sat 16 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£45.00*
Mon 18 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Tue 19 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Captioned Performance
Wed 20 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Thu 21 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Thu 21 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Fri 22 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Fri 22 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 23 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£45.00*
Sat 23 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sun 24 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Tue 26 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Wed 27 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Wed 27 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Thu 28 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Fri 29 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Fri 29 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 30 Dec 17
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Signed Performance
Sat 30 Dec 17
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Tue 2 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Wed 3 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 4 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 4 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 5 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 6 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Captioned Performance
Sat 6 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Tue 9 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Wed 10 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Audio Description Performance
Thu 11 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 11 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 12 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 13 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 13 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sun 14 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Tue 16 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Tue 16 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Wed 17 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 18 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Thu 18 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£35.00*
Fri 19 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 20 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sat 20 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sun 21 Jan 18
01:30 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Sun 21 Jan 18
07:00 PM
£14.00-£40.00*
Captioned Performance

Open captioning allows theatre goers with varying degrees of hearing to view the full text as it is spoken or sung, including sound effects and off stage noises. These appear on a scrolling screen, positioned on or at the side of the stage.

British Sign Language Interpreted

A Signed performance is the usual full production with the addition of a British Sign Language Interpreter who stands on the stage interpreting the show for Deaf attendees.

Audio Described

Audio Described performances are designed to improve the experience of visually impaired and blind attendees. As well as listening to the dialogue on stage the customer can wear a headset and listen to a live description of the action on stage.

Relaxed Performance

A relaxed performance is a specially selected show from our programme, with slight adaptations to make it suitable for an audience of young people or adults with learning disabilities. This may include extra lighting, additional wheelchair spaces and the freedom to move to alternative seating if required.

Dementia-Friendly Performance

A relaxed performance with adaptations to technical aspects of the show, flexible seating options and a relaxed attitude to audience responses and movement in the auditorium. In our front of house space we will have a quiet room, clearer visual markers and signage, and additional staff and volunteers trained to sensitively and respectfully welcome people living with dementia and their supporters to this show.

Booking Fees:

*A transaction fee of £2.50 will be applied to all phone and internet bookings.

Key:

  • Captioned - Captioned
  • Signed - Signed
  • Audio Description - Audio Description
  • Relaxed Performance - Relaxed Performance
  • Dementia Friendly Performance - Dementia Friendly Performance
< Back

Latest News

Creating the magical world of Narnia: bicycles, puppets, and 24 metres of white faux fur

Posted on October 18, 2017

Transforming West Yorkshire Playhouse into Narnia, the talented cast and creatives are well underway creating the magical world of The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe in a brand new adaptation of C.S Lewis’ treasured classic. In a first glimpse of rehearsals, the actors are pinned and fastened into rolls of faux fur and silk […]

Read More All News